3 Things You Need To Get Yourself Prepared Before Marriage

DSC_0002

Bean and I have almost been married for 1 month (Yes, it’s our 1-month celebration tomorrow! Yoohoo!) For us, nothing has really changed after marriage. It’s probably because we had partially lived together for half year. We still have our own time for being alone and friends, he still goes to the gym while I am still active in some yoga or boxing. So far, we really enjoy our marriage – simple and happy 🙂

Actually, two of my friends are going to take a big step in their lives in March! I am so happy for them.

During the last single dinner with our bride-to-be Ms L, she shared the thrill and nervousness of the wedding. Well, I certainly do understand how she feels now. It’s like there are tons of sudden changes and the tedious troubles from parents etc. These are the troubles that only bother you for several months. The things coming after the wedding day  are indeed the tremendous pressure cooker if you have no self-preparation.

I would like to share the 3 Tips You Need To Get Yourself Prepared Before Marriage:

  1. Are you ready to live with him or her, or even with his/her family?Looking back the gradual change we had, we are so glad that we took a decision of partially living together. Living with the soulmate is not as easy as you think, both of you need to accept the quirky sides, which you might just realize how weird it could be until the day you both live together.

    Well, what if you need to live with his/her family? That would be an even tough situation I guess. You may know him/her pretty well, but not his/her parents or siblings right? Each family has its own rules or routines. My recommended way for you to  integrate with your spouse’s family is to observe and embrace your new family. Then, you will find that it’s a lot of fun!

  2. How to allocate the alone time and together time?For me, alone time for myself is critically important! Marriage doesn’t mean that you are going to end your interest/ career/ anything you love. In fact, a harmonic marriage will give you a drive to pursue what you would like to be. I need time and space to write, read, self- reflect, yoga, piano and boxing.

    Before we go to sleep, Bean and I would have our own corners. He might watch his favourite TV series or DigitalRevTV ( Yes, he is a very good photographer indeed) while I might browse online, read and do blogging.

    Sticking with each other is sweet. Yet, don’t forget to keep pursuing your interest after marriage.

  3. What about time for parents?Both Bean and I have grown up in the traditional families, which conserve the Sri Lankan and Chinese culture. That is why we both treasure our family values. Plus, Bean and I do believe that family really comes first! This is a place that give us support and shelter.

    Therefore, after marriage, we set up a routine to visit my parents at least once a week. Going back to parents’ home is the best way to get rid of the hectic, have some good food, reminisce my childhood and nice talk. Funny enough, this is the place I can enjoy some stupid Cantonese TV.

    Well, for Bean’s family, just like other interracial marriage, we will visit them probably 1-2 times a year I guess.

Leave a Reply

